How do I close my account?


We'll be sorry to see you go but understand plans can change. 

You'll need to make sure your account balance is £0 before we can close it. To do this, you can sell your investments and withdraw your cash, or transfer to a different provider.

If you've got any regular payments or withdrawals set up, you need to cancel those too.

Once your balance is at zero and you have no active payments, send us a secure message, we'll close your account as soon as possible: 

  • Log into your account

  • From the left-hand menu go to Secure messages.

  • Send us a message telling us you wish to close your account

We place your account in ‘closing’ status for 3 months. This is so we can process any pending fees, dividends and allow you to access your documents. If you receive a message relating to fees during the closing process you can ignore it. This is because we waive the fees once your account closure is completed. 

After your account is closed you can still log in. To check your account has been closed go to ‘My Profile’ from the left-hand menu and choose the ‘Product’ tab. 

Need more help?

Our UK-based team is ready to answer your questions

Our UK-based team is ready to answer your questions.

Do you have a Vanguard account?

Getting help in difficult circumstances

Please contact us if you’re having financial difficulties, navigating a difficult time in your life, or if your mental wellbeing is affected. This happens to many in these uncertain times. We’re here to help.

Have a complaint?